Pulp teacher and genre fiction

I teach World Literature to juniors and have for many years now been increasing my use of genre and pulp and popular literature (and movies) in my teaching.  Perhaps I’m using a freedom that only someone with experience can have.  When I teach a graphic novel (say Road to Perdition) or a SF book by Ted Chiang (Stories of Your Life and Others) or a popular movie (Inception), I have 30 years of credibility keeping colleagues, parents, and skeptics at bay.

I’m going to reflect on reading and teaching texts (movies, too) that reflect a range from high culture to (that which is thought of as) disposable culture.

Musings on semiotics, signs, reading, and Calvin and Hobbes coming in just over two weeks.

Leave a comment

Filed under books and learning, popular culture, teaching

Leave a Reply

